Aarhus University Seal


Graduate School management and committees

This page has information on the management of the Graduate School of Technical Sciences (GSTS). The management has overall responsibility for the graduate school and the education of PhD students within the school’s research fields. Furthermore, the organisation of the different graduate school committees is listed below, along with information on their responsibilities and committee members.


The GSTS head of graduate school is also responsible for the organisation of PhD studies within the legal framework laid down by the Danish Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation (Ministerial Order no. 1039 of 27 august 2013) and the GSTS Rules and Regulations.

The head of graduate school:

  1. Is responsible for the admission of students.
  2. Is responsible for regular quality assurance evaluations of the graduate school.
  3. Is responsible for the individual PhD study programmes.
  4. Makes recommendations to the dean regarding the appraisal of the PhD programmes and supervises the implementation of suggested changes.
  5. Appoints the PhD supervisors.
  6. Appoints chairs and members of the programme committees.
  7. Reports to the dean on all matters of significance for the PhD students, such as fellowships and scholarships awarded, paid employment, examinations, etc.
  8. Reviews complaints concerning PhD study matters.

PhD Administration

The GSTS is administered by the PhD Administration at Health, Natural Sciences and Technical Sciences, which is an integrated part of Administrative Centre Health.

The PhD Administration is responsible for administration of its PhD programmes and provides services related to the following, for example:

  • Application procedures
  • Enrolment and employment
  • Study permits for international PhD students
  • Information events
  • Study-related and employment-related counselling
  • Evaluations
  • Transferable skills courses
  • Qualifying examinations
  • Defence of PhD theses
  • Issuing PhD certificates
  • Extensions, leaves, maternity/paternity/sick leave, etc.

Please don’t hesitate to contact your PhD partner, if you have any questions or experience any problems in connection with your PhD studies. You will find your PhD partner's contact information on your PhD programme page or on the contact page.

The GSTS admissions committee

  • Vice Dean: Brian Vinter
  • Agroecology: Mathias Neumann Andersen
  • Animal Science: Knud Erik Bach Knudsen
  • Biological and Chemical Engineering: Nina Lock
  • Civil and Architectural Engineering: Lars Vappersgaard Andersen
  • Ecoscience: Anthony David Fox
  • Electrical and Computer Engineering: Jakob Juul Larsen
  • Environmental Science: Mikael Skou Andersen
  • Food Science: Hanne Bertram
  • Mechanical and Production Engineering: Mikael Andersen Langthjem
  • Quantitative Genetics and Genomics: Goutam Sahana

The GSTS admissions committee consists of the head of PhD school and 10 top researchers. All researchers are appointed by the dean and have a broad knowledge of technical sciences. Based on input from the programme committees, the admissions committee recommend applicants for admission to the GSTS PhD studies to the dean.

The GSTS PhD committee

Agendas and minutes:
Agendas and minutes from PhD committee meetings

Rules of procedure:

The GSTS PhD committee is responsible for the organisation of PhD studies within the legal framework laid down by the Danish Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation (Ministerial Order no. 1039 of 27 August 2013) and the GSTS Rules and Regulations. Four members of the GSTS PhD committee are elected from among the permanent academic staff, and four members are elected from among the PhD students.    

Rules of procedure for the PhD committee (Danish version)
Rules of procedure for the PhD committee (English version)

The PhD committee:

  1. Approves PhD courses*
  2. Discusses matters related to PhD studies in general and forwards recommendations to the dean via the head of graduate school
  3. Advises the head of graduate school in matters pertaining to supervision and appraisal of PhD studies
  4. Advises rector about the composition of assessment committees
  5. Reviews applications for credit transfers and requests for exemptions

* In matters regarding transferable skills courses for PhD students, the GSTS PhD Course Committee functions as an advisory committee to the GSTS PhD Committee. The GSTS’ representatives in the Course Committee must be members of the GSTS PhD Committee and are appointed by the GSTS PhD Committee.

Current members of the PhD Committee are:

  • Associate Professor Stefan Hallerstede, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Senior Researcher Morten Frederiksen, Ecoscience (representing Ecoscience and Environmental Science)
  • Professor Lis Wollesen de Jonge, Agroecology (representing Agroecology and Quantitative Genetics and Genomics)
  • Associate Professor Marianne Hammershøj, Food Science (representing Food Science and Animal Science)
  • Representative for Biological and Chemical Engineering, Civil and Architectural Engineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering and Mechanical and Production Engineering: Aaron Hurst (observer)
  • Representative for Environmental Science and Ecoscience: Thea Quistgaard (Observer)
  • Representative for Agroecology and Quantitative Genetics and Genomics: Anne-Cathrine Storgaard Danielsen (elected)
  • Representative for Animal Science and Food Science: Julie Frost Dahl (elected)

The GSTS programme committees

Each programme has a programme committee composed of members of the permanent academic staff and PhD students. Academic staff members of programme committees and their chairs are appointed by the vice-dean for talent development after consultations with the relevant departments/centres.

The programme committees discuss matters related to PhD studies at departmental level and forward their recommendations to the head of PhD school. PhD students are excluded from participating in any items on the agenda that pertain to personal issues, such as the evaluation of incoming applications.

The academic staff members of programme committees evaluate incoming applications and submit their recommendations to the GSTS. Their evaluation involves a thorough assessment of each applicant’s qualifications, in accordance with the criteria listed in paragraph 3.4 of the GSTS Rules and Regulations and of the recommendations provided by the GSTS.

Programme committee members from the academic staff take part in qualifying examinations and thesis evaluations as described in the GSTS Rules and Regulations.

Current chair members of the programme committees are:

  • Agroecology - Lis Wollesen de Jonge
  • Animal Science - Ole Højberg
  • Biological and Chemical Engineering – Keld Lars Bak
  • Civil and Architectural Engineering - Steffen Petersen
  • Ecoscience - Martin Holmstrup
  • Electrical and Computer engineering - Stefan Hallerstede
  • Environmental Science - Matthias Ketzel
  • Food Science - Carl-Otto Ottosen
  • Mechanical and Production Engineering - Charles Møller
  • Quantitative Genetics and Genomics - Doug Speed
17418 / i43