Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl

University elections 2021 – we want you!

2021.10.15 | Nanna Maria Elgaard Pedersen

The university elections are your chance to influence decisions regarding your PhD programme and your workplace through the university’s democratic decision-making bodies, including the PhD committee.

Be inspired by the chair of AUPA (Aarhus University PhD Association) Kristoffer Holst Ibsen when he underlines the importance of making your voice heard by becoming a member of the PhD committee.

Get involved, and stand for election. You can register your candidacy from Thursday, 14 October at 9.00 to Tuesday, 26 October at 12.00.
Please submit your candidacy registration in the election system as early as possible in the period so the election secretariat will have time to ensure that all necessary information is included before the deadline expires.

You can also make a difference by voting for the candidate whom you think is best qualified to make a difference for your degree or PhD programme. You can stand for and vote to the following bodies:

- If you are enrolled and employed at the university: The PhD committee and the Academic Council.
- If you are enrolled based on a Master’s degree, but not employed at the university: The PhD committee, the Academic Council and the University Board.
- If you are enrolled in a combined Master’s/PhD programme on part A: The PhD committee, the Academic Council, the University board and the Board of Studies.

The election period runs from Monday, 8 November at 9.00 to Thursday, 11 November at 16.00. Get all the information about nomination, election, time schedule, rules, etc. here.

The four areas of representation for the PhD committee are:

  • Department of Biological and Chemical Engineering, Department of Civil and Architectural Engineering, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Department of Mechanical and Production Engineering (1 mandate and 1 substitute)
  • Department of Environmental Science, Department of Ecoscience (1 mandate and 1 substitute)
  • Department of Agroecology, Center for Quantitative Genetics and Genomics (1 mandate and 1 substitute)
  • Department of Food Science, Department of Animal Science (1 mandate and 1 substitute)

As the substitutes often participate in the meetings (albeit without voting rights), we encourage you to talk to PhD students from other programmes within your area of representation and e.g. create a candidate list so as many PhD students and programmes as possible can be represented in the PhD committee.

Wishing you a good nomination and election,

Vice-Dean and Head of School Brian Vinter

PhD students
17427 / i43